Lifestyles of the Destitute and Obscure

dazzling and interesting on a shoestring

Eclectic Vintage-Bohemian Style

Our style here in the Land of the Destitute and Obscure is what I like to call eclectic-vintage bohemian.  What does that mean, you may ask.  Good question.  It means that we get innovative, wait patiently, watch ebay, craigslist and garage sale listings with an eagle eye and even get lucky.  As for the rest of our eclectic-vintage bohemian philosophy, even with a tight budget, we follow these loose guidelines to achieve the look:

Buy or Accept it Used:We rely heavily on hand-me-downs for the small people’s clothing options, and since they come from a variety of sources, we don’t worry much about matching.

DSC_0788

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If the long-sleeved onesie is polka-dot and the pants are flowered, at least they’re both pink, and if a yellow hat is all we’ve got, then that’s what we wear.  When you’re the size of the average retriever puppy and your skin is that soft and rosy, you can get away with just about anything.  IMG_0526

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If your mother dresses you to look like a modern American Inuit in a range of yellow tones, just go with it, be thankful that you are warm and keep a lookout for a toddler teepee love-in. DSC_1784

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Handmade Goes With Everything…If it was made with love, it goes with everything, whether it’s a purple cardigan from Grandma or a headband sent from overseas, show your gratitude (and patriotism) and wear it with confidence.IMG_0368

Since I am currently limited in my crocheting and knitting abilities to the two-dimensional, I pair my funky knitted scarves with thin, thrift store silky ones and then I’m both warm and colorful.  Then I decorate my couch with blankets made from hand-me-down yarn.

DSC_1013

Ms. M’s outfit #1


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_1328

Outfit #2

Accessorize with Confidence and Freedom:  Whatever you feel your accessory must be, either an Afghan necklace made from silver coins (one of my favorites) or an inflatable butterfly, let your personality shine.  Don’t let the circumstances dictate the level of accessorizing either.  I may only be going to the park, but sometimes I need to wear a velvet top hat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_0981

Outfit #3

Even though you may only be sitting down to breakfast, there may be times when a morning tutu and striped beanie need to accompany syrup and pancakes.

DSC_1482

Outfit #4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or perhaps, you may need to don a string of ducks and do your best bellydancing—pigtails optional.

DSC_1677

Outfit #5


Inspire Others:  
Encourage your friends to break out of those fashion constraints—fairies, apparently, sometimes need to wear sunglasses, too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wear the Unusual Every Day:  I have jeans with embroidered butterflies, and skirts paneled with old saris.  When I wear them with a simple top, they are a little less overwhelming than some of the combination my eldest puts together, but the outfit remains interesting.  I don’t save a whole lot of my clothing for ‘special occasions.’  I don’t really have those; we don’t go out to fancy parties, and every day is worthy of being special.  All the outfits above (with the exception of the fairy dresses, plastic shoes and ducks) go out—to school, the park, the store.

We splurge every now and then—the big girl gets new rain boots at Target, and I go bonkers on ebay, collecting cute, little used leather crib shoes on my watch list.  I manage to buy a few, too.  The truth is, I don’t need any more clothing, with the possible exception of bras that fit properly.  I can go ‘shopping’ in my own closet and find things I forgot I owned, and pair them with items that desperately need an update.  We manage here to keep our style unique with what we’ve got, because there is no price or monetary limit on creativity.

Just for fun, let’s take a poll. Which one of The Divine Miss M’s outfits was your favorite? Check out the captions for the photo numbers that match.

One response to “Eclectic Vintage-Bohemian Style

  1. Brad November 20, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    Thanks for sharing the blog related to bohemian style . I strongly feel that it would help a lot of person who wants to adopt this style.

Leave a Reply

